Sew, Mama, Sew Meme

I decided to join in on the fun at the Sew, Mama, Sew blog and answer some questions about my main  sewing machine. So here are the questions and my answers:

What brand and model do you have?

Husqvarna Designer 1 ESS

How long have you had it?

7 years

How much does that machine cost (approximately)?

$6000.00 when purchased

What types of things do you sew (i.e. quilting, clothing, handbags, home dec projects, etc.)?

clothing, quilts, home dec projects, anything and everything

How much do you sew?

Every day

How much wear and tear does the machine get?

Sometimes a lot of wear and tear with daily use and then it will sit while I use my Juki TL98Q while working on some quilts.

Do you like/love/hate your machine?

Love, love my machine.

Are you ambivalent? Passionate?

I’d say Passionate.

Does she have a name?

No name

What features does your machine have that work well for you?

I love not having to drop the presser foot, love the threader, love the thread cutter.

Is there anything that drives you nuts about your machine?

I’ve not found anything other than when I used to use the embroidery module, the hoops were a little too light weight for what I was wanting to do.

Do you have a great story to share about your machine (i.e., Found it under the Christmas tree? Dropped it on the kitchen floor? Sewed your fingernail to your zipper?, Got it from your Great Grandma?, etc.!)? We want to hear it!

No special stories about this machine. My original Husqvarna 1+ (the machine before this one) my Dad bought for me so I could embroider.

Would you recommend the machine to others? Why?

I would highly recommend any of the Husqvarna machines. They are very good machines. Heavily made and real work horses.

What factors do you think are important to consider when looking for a new machine?

Ease of use. Availability of accessories. Stability of company making the machine.  Good warranty. Good dealer support.  Good feel.

Do you have a dream machine?

I think I own my dream machine.

Happy Quilting & Sewing!

One Response to “Sew, Mama, Sew Meme”

  1. Sew,Mama,Sew! Blog » » Sewing Machine Master List Says:

    […] Viking 150E Husqvarna Viking 1100 Husqvarna Viking CL8 (1960s) Husqvarna Viking Designer 1 Husqvarna Viking Designer 1 ESS Husqvarna Designer II Husqvarna Viking Designer SE LE Husqvarna Viking Designer SE LE Husqvarna […]

Leave a Reply

