Another Quilt Finished and Out the Door

One of our nieces requested a quilt for her sister-in-law. The sister-in-law chose a nursery set with a giraffe’s on it in pretty dull colors. Alisha wanted something a little brighter with giraffe’s so this is what I came up with.

I thought it turned out pretty cute. I just love the Moda Essential Dots. I wish I had room to order bolts of this fabric but my sewing room is about to explode as it is.

I tried using monofilament on this quilt but the spool ended up in a mess and I finally had to give up. I don’t know what happened but I think I’m going to send it back to Superior to see if they can figure out what happened. It was pooling and then you couldn’t find the end of the thread. I use a lot of Madeira embroidery thread so I think I’m going to try using their monofilament. I’ve seen a lot of good things about it. I have been concerned about using it on baby quilts since I had seen a lot of discussion that you should not use it on baby quilts but I guess I’ll see what I think as time goes on. There are times when monofilament would look so much better than having to use a contrasting thread for stitch in the ditch on multi colored quilts.

Last week, I got the borders done for a friend that was a real booger. She had done a quilt as you go king and it was cut ready for binding. I had to add strips to it to get it on the leaders and had several tucks because she had used a sheet for the backing and part of the strips. It was so heavy I don’t know how anyone will ever be able to sleep under it but it is done. Now, I guess I get to do the binding…but it will have to wait until I get more of my orders done.

The economy is really getting scary but I continue to get orders. I have received an order from Japan from a shop there which is a thrill. That makes the 7th quilt order I have received in the last week so I’m frantically trying to get my Mother’s Harvest Spice quilt finished and off the frame. I have one made and am waiting for backing fabric, another in the works, fabric for another, and 2 more including the one for Japan to get started. This is fun but when they pile up, I start getting a little frantic. I try to get them made and shipped within 2 weeks but this is going to be a 3 weeker I think.

Well, better get my shower and get to work.

Happy quilting!

Leave a Reply

