Christening Blanket/Quilt

I have been asked by our daughter to make a blanket for Miss Elly’s christening.  I’ve been debating on whether to make a single layer heirloom type quilt or try to do a wholecloth. I’ve decided to try my hand at a wholecloth. I’ve ordered some silk and am now trying to decide on the center design. Missy indicated she would like to have Miss Elly’s initial on the quilt and I have come up with a design for the center if I use the initial as the center focus. What do you think of this?

Or, I’ve been thinking since it is a christening quilt, maybe I should use something more religious. What do you think of this?

Of course these will be embroidered onto the quilt and then I will do my quilting. If I use the Trinity Cross for the center, I plan to do an oval around it and then feathers around that. I want to do feather hearts around the edge of the quilt and then scallop the edges (if I can figure out how to do that properly). If I do the Trinity Cross I will put the initial in the center of the heart feathers in each corner and curved cross hatching in the others. I got up at 3am this morning thinking about this so need to get it on paper so I can get some sleep.

Any suggestions on this are very welcome.

Happy Quilting!

Tags: ,

3 Responses to “Christening Blanket/Quilt”

  1. CarolK Says:

    That will be a gorgeous blanket for your Miss Elly! I can hardly wait to see it.

  2. janthompson Says:

    This will be a beautiful quilt – I love both ideas. I know they will be beautiful on silk. Will look forward to seeing the finished piece.

  3. Ami Says:

    I really like the first one much better. The second one is also nice but maybe not as personal to the little girl being cristened. I will be looking forward to a photo of the finished quilt. I saw your question on MQR awhile back.

Leave a Reply

