Life at Wishbone

The morning started out with me waking up 4 or 5 times during the night about to smother. I can’t imagine why since I have 2 cats that weigh in around 20 pounds, 1 at probably 12 and a 20 pound pug that think I’m their mattress. I finally got up at 5 so they could have the bed but of course, they all got up too. Then my 11 year old decided to watch cartoons instead of getting ready for school which caused a major yelling match so we didn’t miss the bus. When I arrive at the mailbox to wait on the bus, the pug jumps out of the car so I chase him down before he really takes off and I get the 11 year old on the bus. After watching the GMA for a while and drinking some coffee, I start getting ready to go chop ponds. It takes me a few trips to the bathroom (this is very important) before starting to put on my one piece jumpsuit, my coveralls, my bog boots, my husbands carhart coat, my hood, and finally my gloves so I can walk outside. This morning, I filled all of the bird feeders (5 in all) and got my trusty cow dog on the 4-wheeler (we don’t walk when it is this cold) so we could trek down to the ponds. I get to the ponds and would you believe at 20 degrees, there are waves. Thank God!! It’s too cold to have to do this. Every winter, I spend my time while chopping the ice in the ponds cursing the cows. I’m 57 years old and this is not what I had envisioned me doing during this time of my life. My sister, who is 68 years old is the driving force on these cows. They give “her” something to do but it always also includes me. There are pond breakings (which is my job), feeding hay, feeding cubes (I drive the truck while she distributes them from the back), then the occasional birthing assist. Yesterday, just as I get started working on an order quilt, she calls to say we have a heifer needing assistance. The calf is backwards and she can’t deliver by herself. We call the vet and they are all booked so I call my DBIL who is in a meeting and can’t get loose. We wait on the DBIL while I quilt as much as I can. Then fortunately, when he arrives, he brings reinforcements so I don’t have to assist. Another Thank God!! The heifer is saved but unfortunately, the calf is lost.

So, here I sit, waiting to shower because it is cube day. I have a quilt on the frame to finish and another to get started but here I sit waiting and waiting for Sissy to arrive so we can cube the cows. Oh well, such is a day at Wishbone.

I hope you get lots of quilting done today and hopefully, I’ll get the quilt finished on the frame and get started on the next one. I’m really anxious to get these out of the way since I have several in the works (in my brain) that I’m really wanting to get started on.

Happy Quilting!

An added note. I finally got tired of waiting and got in the shower. You guessed it, as soon as I got out and got my hair dry, along comes my sister. After putting hay out, she comes back into the house to tell me the heifer that had the calf yesterday has fallen into a ditch full of water and we are going to have to get her out. I put my sweat shirt, sweat pants, coveralls, DH carhart coat, stocking hat, bog boots, and gloves on again and out we go. We first had to put out cubes to keep the cows from attacking the truck. Then we go to find the heifer. Unfortunately, the outcome for the heifer was not good.

3 Responses to “Life at Wishbone”

  1. Anita aka Grannypatches Says:

    Sigh…. if only I could trade my inner city life for a life like yours. I always enjoy reading your blog, it reminds me of home and my life of long, long ago.

  2. jhwolf Says:

    Anytime you want to visit, just come on. I would enjoy the company while making the treks around the place for the various duties!

  3. Gayle Says:

    The calf story and the heifer story….. both are in my worst nightmares. I hope I never have to deal with that with our cows. But I think of it often!
    You are a brave woman in MY book!

    Gayle (who was a city girl for the first half of her life, now a country girl)

Leave a Reply

