My First Feathers

I have been busy doing quilting then other things so decided I’d better get something posted.

I just finished my first quilt with feathers. I have been drawing feathers for months but hadn’t gotten the guts to put any on a quilt. So, I made this Hugs and Kisses quilt and decided it was the one. So, here are some pictures of the quilt and some close ups.

100_1308-2.jpg100_1300-2.jpg100_1307-2.jpg

They aren’t the greatest feathers ever done but I think they are okay for a first. Now, I’ll keep practicing on quilts rather than paper so they should improve.

This past weekend I put laminate flooring down in one of the bedrooms and have been so sore I feel 100 years old. My legs were like rubber for several days and now are just plain sore. I guess I need to get more up and down exercise before doing this type work. I’m hoping by this weekend I will have all the soreness worked out of my legs.

I also decided after quilting the feathers and having severe back spasms that it was time to do something about the handles on my machine. I have been having problems with my right arm after doing very much quilting and think part of it is from the height of the handles on my machine. I purchased some bike handles but didn’t want to tear off the grips on the machine to get them on so sent those back. Yesterday, I ordered Micro handles for my machine. I’m hoping these will be the solution but if not, I’ll sell those and try something else. I’ve had the Fun Quilter a year now and the handles are the only thing about it I do not like. I talked to Nolting about retrofitting the Pro handles to the FQ but decided it would be more expense than I wanted right now. So, hopefully, the micro handles will be what I need.

That’s it for today. Happy Quilting!

One Response to “My First Feathers”

  1. AllenQuilts Says:

    WTG on the feathers!

Leave a Reply

